Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Press Release of the General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops, 23.11.2019

The General Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops makes it known that, at the conclusion of the Special Assembly of the Synod of Bishops for the Pan-Amazon Region, the respective Special Council was constituted, composed of:

Members elected by the Synod Assembly:

  1. His Eminence Cardinal Cláudio HUMMES, O.F.M., archbishop emeritus of São Paulo, president of the Episcopal Commission for Amazonia of the National Conference of Bishops of Brazil (N.C.B.B.), president of the Pan-Amazon Ecclesial Network, Brazil;

  2. His Eminence Cardinal Pedro Ricardo BARRETO JIMENO, S.J., archbishop of Huancayo, Peru, vice president of the Pan-Amazon Ecclesial Network;

  3. Archbishop Alberto TAVEIRA CORRÊA of Belém do Pará, Brazil;

  4. Archbishop Roque PALOSCHI of Porto Velho, Brazil;

  5. Bishop Emmanuel LAFONT of Cayenne, French Guiana, France;

  6. Bishop Ricardo Ernesto CENTELLAS GUZMÁN of Potosí, president of the Episcopal Conference, Bolivia;

  7. Bishop Erwin KRÄUTLER, C.PP.S., prelate emeritus of Xingu, Brazil;

  8. Bishop Rafael COB GARCÍA, vicar apostolic ofPuyo, titular bishop of Cerbali, Ecuador;

  9. Bishop Eugenio COTER, vicar apostolic of Pando, titular bishop of Tibiuca, Bolivia;

  10. Bishop Joaquín Humberto PINZÓN GÜIZA, I.M.C., vicar apostolic of Puerto Leguízamo-Solano, titular bishop of Ottocio, Colombia;

  11. Bishop Joselito CARREÑO QUIÑÓNEZ, M.X.Y., vicar apostolic of Inírida, titular bishop of Paria in Proconsolari, Colombia;

  12. Bishop David MARTÍNEZ DE AGUIRRE GUINEA, O.P., vicar apostolic of Puerto Maldonado, titular bishop of Izirzada, Perù;

  13. Bishop Jonny Eduardo REYES SEQUERA, S.D.B., vicar apostolic of Puerto Ayacucho, titular bishop of Canapio, Venezuela.

    Members appointed by the Holy Father

  1. Reverend Sr. Laura Vicuña PEREIRA MANSO, C.F., pastoral agent in the Karipuna people, Brazil;

  2. Ms. Patricia GUALINGA, indigenous leader in the defence of human rights of the Kichwa community of Sarayaku, Ecuador;

  3. Mr. Delio SITICONATZI CAMAITERI, member of the Ashaninca people, Amazon ethnic group, Peru.