Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Holy See Press Office Communiqué on the Meeting of the Council of Cardinals, 19.09.2019

The Council of Cardinals met for three days: Tuesday 17, Wednesday 18 and Thursday 19 September.

The following Eminent Cardinals were present: Cardinal Pietro Parolin, Cardinal Óscar Andrés Rodríguez Maradiaga, S.D.B., Cardinal Reinhard Marx, Cardinal Seán Patrick O’Malley, O.F.M. Cap., Cardinal Giuseppe Bertello and Cardinal Oswald Gracias. Also present were the secretary of the Council, His Excellency Bishop Marcello Semeraro, and the adjunct secretary, Bishop Marco Mellino.

The Holy Father also participated in the meeting this morning, as permitted by commitments that arose.

The working sessions were held in the morning from 9.00 to 12.30 and in the afternoon from 16.30 to 19.00 and ended at midday today.

As expected, the activity of this Council meeting focused on the re-reading and modification of the draft of the new Apostolic Constitution on the basis of the many contributions received from the Episcopal Conferences, the precise observations of the dicasteries of the Roman Curia and the suggestions made by the bodies concerned.

This first reading, which has come to an end, was a phase of listening and reflection responding to the Holy Father’s indications with regard to communion and synodality.

The Council has established the calendar of meetings for 2020. The next meeting is scheduled to take place on 2, 3 and 4 December 2019.