Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Other Pontifical Acts, 25.01.2017

The Holy Father has appointed:

- Fr. Kannikadass William Antony as bishop of Mysore (area 21,051, population 9,928,985, Catholics 105,227, priests 147, religious 917), India. The bishop-elect was born in Polibeta, India in 1965 and was ordained a priest in 1993. He studied philosophy and theology at St. Peter’s Pontifical Seminary in Bangalore and obtained a Master’s degree in canon law in Bangalore, and a Bachelor of Education and Master’s degree in history of Christianity from the University of Mysore. He has served in the following pastoral roles: parish vicar in St. Thomas Church, Thomayarpalayam, and in Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Gundlupet; parish priest at the Holy Family Church in Hinkal, Mysore, and at St. Joseph’s Cathedral, Mysore; and chancellor and bursar of the diocese of Mysore. He is currently parish priest at St. Joseph’s Church in Jayalakshmipuram and secretary of the Mysore Diocesan Educational Society. He is also a member of the college of consulters and defender of the bond at the diocesan tribunal, and public relations officer of the same diocese. He succeeds Bishop Thomas Antony Vazhapilly, whose resignation from the pastoral care of the same diocese was accepted by the Holy Father.

- Fr. Jeffrey R. Haines and Fr. James T. Schuerman as auxiliaries of the archdiocese of Milwaukee (area 12,323, population 2,404,000, Catholics 683,000, priests 644, permanent deacons 185, religious 1,561), United States of America.

Bishop-elect Haines was born in Milwaukee, United States of America in 1958 and was ordained a priest in 1985. He obtained a bachelor’s degree from Marquette University, Milwaukee in 1981 and a Master’s degree in theology from the St. Francis de Sales Seminary in 1985. He has served in the following roles: vicar of the St. Nicholas parish (1985-1991) and the Holy Redeemer parish (1987-1991) in Milwaukee, and of the St. Eugene parish at Fox Point (1991-1996); pastor of the St. Francis Xavier Cabrini parish at West Bend (1996-2002 and 2003-2011); administrator of the St. Patrick parish in Whitewater (2002-2003), and assistant priest at the Immaculate Conception parish and the St. Mary parish at West Bend. Since 2011 he has served as rector of the Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist in Milwaukee, and is also member of the college of consulters, chair of the presbyteral council, member of the preparatory commission for the 2014 archdiocesan synod, and vicar forane.

Bishop-elect Schuerman was born in 1957 and was ordained a priest in 1986. He studied philosophy at Marquette University in Milwaukee and theology at the St. Francis de Sales archdiocesan seminary and at the Collegium Canisianum of the University of Innsbruck, Austria (1980-1986). He subsequently studied spirituality at the Chicago Theological Union and obtained a Doctorate of Ministry in 1996. He has served in the following roles: vicar of the St. Anthony parish in Milwaukee (1986-1992); missionary in the Sagrada Familia parish in the diocese of San Juan de la Maguana in the Dominican Republic (1992-1996); spiritual director of the St. Francis de Sales Seminary College (1997-2009) and pastor of the St. Andrew parish in Delavan (2009-2013). He is currently pastor of the St. Francis de Sales parish at Lake Geneva (since 2010), vicar forane of “District Three”, and member of the admissions board of the archdiocesan seminary.