Back Top Print Search

On 17 October in the Vatican, the awarding of the "Razón abierta" (“Expanded Reason”) Awards 2023

The initiative, now in its sixth edition, stems from the collaboration between the Francisco de Vitoria University of Madrid and the Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation

(9/10/23) The award ceremony for the winners of the Sixth edition of the "Razón abierta" Awards will take place on Tuesday 17 October at the Vatican, from 17.00 in the Old Synod Hall.

The initiative - inspired by Ratzinger's idea on the need to have a broad and extensive vision of reason and its exercise in the search for truth and the answer to the fundamental questions on humanity and its destiny - stems from the collaboration between the Francisco de Vitoria University in Madrid and the Joseph Ratzinger-Benedict XVI Vatican Foundation.

The ceremony will be presided over by Cardinal Luis Francisco Ladaria Ferrer, S.J., prefect emeritus of the Dicastery for the Doctrine of the Faith, Father Federico Lombardi, S.J., president of the Ratzinger Foundation and Professor Daniel Sada, rector of the Francisco de Vitoria University are scheduled to speak.

This will be followed by the presentation of the Awards decreed by the international Jury, composed of Father Federico Lombardi, Daniel Sada, Stefano Zamagni, Marta Bertolaso, Rafael Vicuña and Javier Mª Prades, who examined the works nominated by academics from 63 university institutions, from 15 countries, in 4 languages.

The award winners are:

In the Research Section

- “Towards a Politics of Communion: Catholic Social Teaching in Dark Times" by Anna Rowlands (Durham University);

- "Reframing Providence: New Perspectives from Aquinas on the Divine Action Debate" by Simon Maria Kopf (Professor of Fundamental Theology at ITI Catholic University and Research Fellow at Blackfriars Hall, Oxford).

In the Teaching Section

- Juan Serrano Vicente (professor and researcher at UFV and academic director of Europe Scholarships and the UFV University Leadership School) and Carola Díaz de Lope-Díaz Molins (executive director of Santander-UFV Europe Scholarships and the School of Leadership at Francisco de Vitoria University) for “Escuela de Liderazgo Universitario” (Francisco de Vitoria University, Madrid);

- Giuseppe Tanzella Nitti and Stefano Oliva, respectively director and coordinator of the DISF Educational digital platform, active at the "Centro di Documentazione Interdisciplinare di Scienza e Fede" (Pontifical University of the Holy Cross, Rome).

An Honourable Mention went to Elizabeth Newman (Professor of Theology at Union Presbyterian Seminary Baptist House of Studies and Duke Divinity School) for "Divine Abundance".



Journalists and media operators wishing to attend must send apply, up to 24 hours before the event, via the Holy See Press Office online accreditation system at: press.vatican.va/accreditation