Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Holy See Press Office Communiqué, 16.12.2020

Yesterday afternoon, 15 December 2020, an online assembly of the Council for the Economy was held online. The participants were the president, His Eminence Cardinal Reinhard Marx, the secretary, Msgr. Brian Edwin Ferme, and the members of the Council: Their Eminences Cardinal Wilfred Fox Napier, archbishop of Durban; Cardinal Péter Erdő, archbishop of Esztergom-Budapest; Cardinal Odilo Pedro Scherer, archbishop of São Paulo; Cardinal Gérald Cyprien Lacroix, archbishop of Québec; Cardinal Joseph William Tobin, archbishop of Newark; Cardinal Anders Arborelius, bishop of Stockholm; and Cardinal Giuseppe Petrocchi, archbishop of L'Aquila; and with them, Professor Charlotte Kreuter-Kirchhof, Dr. Eva Castillo Sanz, Dr. Leslie Jane Ferrar, Dr. Marija Kolak, Dr. Alberto Minali, Dr. María Concepción Osákar Garaicoechea, and the Honorable Ruth Maria Kelly, all linked up from their respective countries of residence. In addition, the following participated from the Vatican: Fr. Juan Antonio Guerrero Alves, prefect of the Secretariat for the Economy; Dr. Maximino Cabéllelo Ledo, secretary of the same Secretariat; Archbishop Nunzio Galantino, president of APSA; Dr. Gianfranco Mammì, director of the IOR; Dr. Giovanni Boscia, Chief Financial Officer of the IOR, and Professor Nino Savelli, president of the Pensions Fund.

During the meeting, various themes of interest to the Council were discussed, including the situation of the Pensions Fund and the Statutes of the Investments Committee, which are currently being drafted and for which the IOR and APSA have presented their respective contributions. Finally, some preliminary data on the Holy See's budget for 2021 were presented.

The Assembly closed at 19.15, adjourning to the next meeting, scheduled for February 2021.