Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Resignations and Appointments, 16.10.2020

Appointment of coadjutor bishop of Serrinha, Brazil

The Holy Father has appointed as coadjutor bishop of Serrinha, Brazil, Bishop Hélio Pereira dos Santos, transferring him from the titular see of Tiava and from the office of auxiliary of the metropolitan archdiocese of São Salvador da Bahia.

Curriculum vitae

Bishop Hélio Pereira dos Santos was born on 18 December 1967 in Pão de Açúcar, in the diocese of Palmeira dos Índios, in the State of Alagoas. He carried out his studies in philosophy at the archdiocesan seminary of Maceió (1990-1992) and in theology at the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro (1993-1996). He attended the course in letters at the State University of Alagoas and specialised in history at the Centro de Estudos Superiores de Maceió (CESMAC) and in English language teaching at the Cândido Mendes University.

On 19 December 1996 he was ordained a priest, and incardinated in the diocese of Palmeira dos Índios, where he held the following offices: treasurer of São Vicente College in Pão de Açúcar-AL; rector of the São João Maria Vianney in Palmeira dos Índios-AL; chaplain of Nossa Senhora Aparecida in the São Vicente parish and of the Divine Shepherdess in the Nossa Senhora do Amparo parish; parish vicar of Nossa Senhora da Saúde in Igaci-AL; diocesan pastoral coordinator; vicar general; chancellor of the Curia; parish priest of Bom Jesus dos Pobres in Quebrangulo-AL; and member of the presbyteral council and the college of consultors. In addition, he has served as professor at the Fundação Estadual da Saúde in Sergipe, in the Centro de Estudos Superiores de Maceió (CESMAC) and in the Santo Tomás de Aquino Faculty in Palmeira dos Índios-AL.

On 27 April 2016 he was appointed as titular bishop of Tiava and auxiliary of São Salvador da Bahia, receiving episcopal ordination the following 22 July.

Within the Regional Nordeste 3 of the National Conference of Brazilian Bishops he is head of the Commission of Deacons.