Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Press Release, 26.08.2020

The John Paul I Vatican Foundation, instituted by Pope Francis by the Rescriptum ex audentia of 17 February last, to promote research, study and advancement at international level of the thought and teachings of John Paul I, Since its recent constitution, it has been working hard to consolidate its structure and to set up activities that contribute to highlighting the work of John Paul I. On the 42nd anniversary of his election as Pontiff, the Foundation is pleased to communicate that, during the meeting of the Board of Directors of 3 July, the president, Cardinal Secretary of State Pietro Parolin, appointed, as provided for in Art. 11 of the Articles of Association, the Scientific Committee with “proven expertise and experience” and ordered its activities by conferring the role of Coordinator of the Scientific Committee to Dr. Stefania Falasca, vice president of the Foundation. The Committee, whose members are appointed for a five-year period, is composed as follows:

  1. Professor Carlo Ossola, philologist and professor at the Collège de France in Paris;
  2. Reverend Professor Dario Vitali, professor of ecclesiology and director of the Department of Dogmatic Theology at the Pontifical Gregorian University;
  3. Professor Gilfredo Marengo, professor of theological anthropology and vice dean of the John Paul II Pontifical Theological Institute for Marriage and Family Sciences at the Pontifical Lateran University;
  4. Professor Mauro Velati, collaborator at the John XXIII Foundation for Religious Sciences and of the Cause for the Canonization of John Paul I, for which he wrote the part relating to the Venetian years in the Biographia ex documentis of the Positio;
  5. Reverend Diego Sartorelli, director of the library and historical archives of the Patriarchate of Venice;
  6. Dr. Loris Serafini, archivist, director of the Albino Luciani Museum in Canale d'Agordo.

In this first phase of the Foundation's activities, the Board of Directors also decided, in accordance with paragraph 5 of Art. 11 of the Statute, to co-opt the Prefect of the Vatican Apostolic Archives, Mons. Sergio Pagano and the Prefect of the Vatican Apostolic Library, Mons. Cesare Pasini, to the Scientific Committee for their competences.

Vatican City, 26 August 2020