Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Resignations and Appointments, 29.05.2018

Appointment of bishop of Luçon, France

The Holy Father Francis has appointed as bishop of the diocese of Luçon, France, H.E. Msgr. François Jacolin, M.D.P., currently bishop of Mende.

H.E. Msgr. François Jacolin, M.D.P.

H.E. Msgr. François Jacolin, M.D.P., was born on 25 April 1950 in Fontainebleau, in the diocese of Meaux. He completed his classical studies at the minor seminary of Neuvy-sur-Barangeon in the archdiocese of Bourges. Following his university studies, he obtained a licentiate and “Maîtrise” in classical literature and taught at Bourges for five years. In 1977 he entered the Pontifical French Seminary in Rome, attending theology courses at the Pontifical Gregorian University, where he obtained a licentiate in theology, specializing in biblical theology.

He was ordained a priest on 4 April 1982 for the archdiocese of Bourges. After priestly ordination in the Congregation of the Missionaries of the Plaine et de Sainte Thérèse of the diocese of Luçon, he gave his perpetual profession on 30 September 1987.

He has held the following offices: from 1984 to 1991 he was a member of the Missionnaires de la Plaine team in Saint-Gaultier, in the archdiocese of Bourges; in 1985 he was also in charge of the spiritual animation of the Léon XIII-Sainte-Solange Lyceum in Châteauroux, and in 1989 he became a member of the diocesan catechesis service. From 1991 to 2004 he was a member of the priestly group of Argenton-sur-Creuse; in 1992 he was parish priest in solidum and in 2001, pastor of the parishes of Argenton-sur-Creuse and two other parishes; he was also appointed diocesan Superior of the Missionnaires de la Plaine for the archdiocese of Bourges. At the same time, from 1997 to 2003, he was episcopal delegate for the Charismatic Renewal. In 2003 he became episcopal vicar and delegate for religious life, and in 2004 he also became pastor of the parish of the Resurrection at Châteauroux.

On 16 January 2007 he was appointed as bishop of Mende and received episcopal consecration on the following 18 March. Within the French Episcopal Conference he is a member of the Episcopal Commission for the Universal Mission of the Church.