Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

Resignations and Appointments, 19.01.2018

Resignation of bishop of Acqui, Italy, and appointment of successor

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese of Acqui, Italy, presented by H.E. Msgr. Pier Giorgio Micchiardi.

The Pope has appointed as bishop of the diocese of Acqui, Italy, the Rev. Msgr. Luigi Testore, of the clergy of the metropolitan archdiocese of Milan, currently director of the “Blessed Paul VI” pastoral community in Milan.

Rev. Msgr. Luigi Testore

The Rev. Msgr. Luigi Testore was born in Castigliole d’Asti, in the province and diocese of Asti, on 30 April 1952. He moved to Saronno (VA) where took his scientific high school examinations. In 1972 he was accepted in the archiepiscopal seminary of Milan and, after completing the regular cycle of studies, he obtained a bachelor’s degree in theology. He was ordained a priest on 11 June 1977.

Msgr. Testore has held the following offices: language teacher in the Seveso minor seminary from 1977 to 1980; special secretary to Cardinal Carlo Maria Martini from 1980 to 1986; deputy director of the Administrative Office from 1986 to 1988; head of the Unified Accounting Office from 1988 to 1995; director of the Administrative Office from 1990 to 1995; diocesan bursar from 1995 to 2012; episcopal vicar of the sector from 1995 to 2012; president of Caritas Ambrosiana from 2005 to 2013; parish priest of San Marco in Milan from 2012 to 2016; head of the “Blessed Paul VI” pastoral community from 2017 to the present.

He has served as director of the G.B. Foundation Guazzetti Onlus and from 2006 to 2013 he was the coordinator of pastoral care of the Milanese parishes of San Bartolomeo, Santa Maria Incoronata, San Simpliciano and Santa Maria del Carmine. He also assumed the presidency of various diocesan bodies: Council for the Diocesan League of Legates from 1994 to 2006; board of directors of G.S.C. S.R.L. from 1994 to 2008; board of directors of the Opera Pia delle Chiese e Case Povere from 1995 to 2007; technical Commission from 1997 to 2001; board of directors of the Diocesan Office for the Preservation and Dissemination of the Faith from 2001 to 2006, of which he was also director from 1995 to 2001; board of directors of the Caritas Ambrosiana Foundation from 2005 to 2013; board of directors of the Luigi Moneta Foundation from 2006 to 2013.

Finally, he was a member of various diocesan councils and commissions: the Presbyteral council from 1990 to 1995; Economic Affairs Council from 1989 to 1995; Episcopal Council from 1995 to 2012; Archiepiscopal Commission for the new figures of lay ministry from 1997 to 2006; Congregation of Conservatories of the Veneranda Biblioteca Ambrosiana from 1995 to 1997, 1998 to 2007, and board of directors of the Carlo Maria Martini Foundation from 2013 to 2016.

On 10 February 1996 he was named Prelate of Honour of His Holiness.