Sala Stampa

Sala Stampa Back Top Print Pdf
Sala Stampa

19 November: consistory for the creation of new cardinals, 09.10.2016

“Dear brothers and sisters”, said the Pope after praying the Angelus. “I am glad to announce that on Saturday 19 November, on the eve of the closure of the Holy Door of Mercy, a consistory will be held for the appointment of thirteen new Cardinals from the five continents. Their provenance, from eleven nations, expresses the universality of the Church, who announces and bears witness to the Good News of God’s Mercy in every corner of the earth. The insertion of the new Cardinals in the diocese of Rome, furthermore, manifests the indissoluble bond between the See of Peter and the particular Churches around the world”.

“On Sunday 20 November, Solemnity of Christ the King, at the conclusion of the Extraordinary Holy Year of Mercy, I will concelebrate Holy Mass with the new Cardinals, with the College of Cardinals, with the Archbishops, Bishops and Presbyters. These are the names of the new cardinals:

1. Archbishop Mario Zenari, Italy, who will remain as apostolic nuncio in the beloved and troubled Syria

2. Archbishop Dieudonné Nzapalainga of Bangui, Central African Republic

3. Archbishop Carlos Osoro Sierra of Madrid, Spain

4. Archbishop Sérgio da Rocha of Brasilia, Brazil

5. Archbishop Blase J. Cupich of Chicago, United States of America

6. Archbishop Patrick D’Rozario of Dhaka, Bangladesh

7. Archbishop Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo of Mérida, Venezuela

8. Archbishop Jozef De Kesel of Mechelen-Brussels, Belgium

9. Archbishop Maurice Piat of Port Louis, Mauritius

10. Bishop Kevin Joseph Farrell, prefect of the Dicastery for the Laity, Families and Life, United States of America

11. Archbishop Carlos Aguiar Retes of Tlalnepantla, Mexico

12. Archbishop John Ribat of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

13. Archbishop Joseph William Tobin of Indianapolis, United States of America”.

After announcing the names of the future cardinals, the Holy Father explained that the members of the College of Cardinals will also include “two archbishops and a bishop emeritus, distinguished for their pastoral service, and a presbyter who has given clear Christian witness. They represent many bishops and priests who in the Church as a whole build up the People of God, announcing the merciful love of God in their daily care for the Lord’s flock, and in the confession of the faith. They are:

1. Archbishop Anthony Soter Fernandez, emeritus of Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia

2. Archbishop Renato Corti, emeritus of Novara, Italy

3. Bishop Sebastian Koto Khoarai, emeritus of Mohale’s Hoek, Lesotho

4. Rev. Ernest Simoni, presbyter of the archdiocese of Shkodër-Pult, Albania”.

Finally, the Pope asked all those present to pray for the new Cardinals, so that, “confirming their adhesion to Christ, Supreme merciful and faithful Priest, they help me in my ministry as bishop of Rome, and as ‘permanent and visible source and foundation of unity of faith and communion’”.