HOLY SEE PRESS OFFICE BUREAU DE PRESSE DU SAINT-SIÈGE PRESSEAMT DES HEILIGEN STUHLS
OFICINA DE PRENSA DE LA SANTA SEDE SALA DE IMPRENSA DA SANTA SÉ
BIURO PRASOWE STOLICY APOSTOLSKIEJ دار الصحافة التابعة للكرسي الرسولي

N. 250109a

Thursday 09.01.2025

## Informative Note on the diplomatic relations of the Holy See

There are 184 states that currently maintain diplomatic relations with the Holy See. To these must be added the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. There are 90 Embassy Chancelleries accredited to the Holy See with headquarters in Rome, including those of the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. The Offices accredited to the Holy See of the League of Arab States, the International Organization for Migration and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees are also based in Rome.

During 2024, on 11 October the Second Additional Protocol to the Agreement between the Holy See and Burkina Faso on the legal status of the Catholic Church in Burkina Faso was signed. On 22 October the Holy See and the People's Republic of China agreed to extend for a further four years the Provisional Agreement regarding the appointment of bishops, stipulated on 22 September 2018 and renewed on 22 October 2020 and 22 October 2022. Finally, on 24 October, the Agreement between the Holy See and the Czech Republic on some legal questions was signed.