

SALA STAMPA DELLA SANTA SEDE BOLLETTINO

HOLY SEE PRESS OFFICE BUREAU DE PRESSE DU SAINT-SIÈGE PRESSEAMT DES HEILIGEN STUHLS OFICINA DE PRENSA DE LA SANTA SEDE SALA DE IMPRENSA DA SANTA SÉ BIURO PRASOWE STOLICY APOSTOLSKIEJ دار الصحافة التابعة للكرسي الرسولي

Sunday 08.12.2024

Resignations and Appointments

Resignation and succession of bishop of Šiauliai, Lithuania

Resignation and succession of bishop of Cabanatuan, Philippines

Resignation and succession of bishop of Šiauliai, Lithuania

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese of Šiauliai, Lithuania, presented by Bishop Eugenijus Bartulis.

He is succeeded by Bishop Darius Trijonis, until now coadjutor bishop of the same diocese.

Resignation and succession of bishop of Šiauliai, Lithuania

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese of Cabanatuan, Philippines, presented by Bishop Sofronio A. Bancud, S.S.S.

The Holy Father has appointed Bishop Prudencio P. Andaya, C.I.C.M., transferring him from the apostolic vicariate of Tabuk.

Curriculum vitae

Bishop Andaya was born on 2 January 1959 in Labuagan, Kalinga, Philippines. He carried out his studies at the Maryhurst Seminary and the Saint Louis University of Baguio City. He completed his novitiate with the

N. 241208c

Congregation of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, and the Institute of Religious Formation, Saint Louis University. He was ordained a priest on 8 September 1986.

He has held the following roles: youth pastoral worker of the *Kabundi Parish*, Chingola, Zambia (1984-1986); parish vicar (1987-1989) and parish priest (1989-1997) of *Kapisha*, Chingola; district superior, C.I.C.M., Zambia (1991-1997); *Socius*, C.I.C.M., *novitiate*, Taytay, Rizal, Philippines (1998-1999); master of novices, C.I.C.M., *novitiate*, Taytay, Rizal (1999-2003).

He was appointed vicar apostolic of Tabuk on 16 April 2003, and was ordained a priest the following 16 July. He subsequently held the following offices: president, Saint Louis College of Bulanao, Kalinga (2004-2014; since 2019); vice president (2004-2008) and president (2013-2022) of the Commission of the Episcopal Conferences of the Philippines (CBCP) and for Indigenous Peoples (2004-2008); apostolic administrator of the diocese of Ilagan (2017-2018).