

N. 240108a

Monday 08.01.2024

## Informative Note on the diplomatic relations of the Holy See

There are 184 states that currently maintain diplomatic relations with the Holy See. To these must be added the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. There are 91 Embassy Chancelleries accredited to the Holy See with headquarters in Rome, including those of the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. The Offices accredited to the Holy See of the League of Arab States, the International Organization for Migration and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees are also based in Rome.

During 2023, on 23 February, the Holy See established full diplomatic relations with the Sultanate of Oman. On 19 July, the "Supplementary Agreement to the Agreement between the Holy See and Kazakhstan on Mutual Relations of 24 September 1998", regarding the granting of visas and stay permits to ecclesiastical and religious personnel, signed on 14 September 2022, was ratified. On 27 July the "Agreement on the Status of the Resident Papal Representative in Viet Nam" was concluded, with the subsequent appointment, on 23 December of the Resident Papal Representative.