

N. 230415c

Saturday 15.04.2023

## **Resignations and Appointments**

Resignation and succession of archbishop of Zagreb, Croatia

Resignation and appointment of bishop of Quiché

## Resignation and succession of archbishop of Zagreb, Croatia

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the archdiocese of Zagreb, Croatia, presented by His Eminence Cardinal Josip Bozanić.

He is succeeded by Archbishop Dražen Kutleša, until now coadjutor archbishop of the same archdiocese.

## Resignation and appointment of bishop of Quiché

The Holy Father has accepted the resignation from the pastoral care of the diocese of Quiché, Guatemala, presented by Bishop Rosolino Bianchetti Boffelli.

The Holy Father has appointed Bishop Juan Manuel Cuá Ajucum as bishop of the diocese of Qiuché, Guatemala, transferring him from the titular see of Rosella and from the office of auxiliary of the archdiocese of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango-Totonicapán.

## Curriculum vitae

Bishop Juan Manuel Cuá Ajucum was born on 22 April 1962 in Totonicapán, in the metropolitan archdiocese of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango-Totonicapán. After completing his studies in the national major seminary, he was

ordained a priest on 13 May 1995, and incardinated in the metropolitan archdiocese of Santiago de Guatemala.

After ordination, he first served as parish vicar of *San Juan Sacatepequez* (1995). He was awarded a licentiate in dogmatic theology from the Pontifical University of the Holy Cross in Rome (1996-1998), and went on to serve as parish priest of *San Pedro Apóstol* (1998-2001), formator in the national major seminary (2001-2004), parish priest of *San Juan María Vianney* (2004-2018), adjunct secretary of the Episcopal Conference (2008-2012), parish priest of *Nuestra Señora del Rosario*, director of the Archdiocesan Pastoral Centre and member of the College of Consultors (2018-2021).

On 27 March 2021 he was elected titular bishop of Rosella and auxiliary of the archdiocese of Los Altos, Quetzaltenango-Totonicapán, and received episcopal ordination on 24 June 2021.