

N. 210208a

Monday 08.02.2021

Note on the diplomatic relations of the Holy See

There are currently 183 states that have diplomatic relations with the Holy See, and in addition the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. There are 88 Embassy Chancelleries based in Rome, including those of the European Union and the Sovereign Military Order of Malta. The offices of the League of Arab States, the International Organisation for Migration and the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees are also based in Rome.

On 12 October 2020, the Seventh Additional Agreement between the Holy See and the Republic of Austria to the Convention for the Regulation of Patrimonial Relations of 23 June 1960 was signed. In addition, the following Agreements were ratified: on 17 January, the Framework Agreement between the Holy See and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, signed on 20 May 2016, and on 7 September, the Agreement on the Legal Status of the Catholic Church in Burkina Faso, signed on 12 July 2019. On 17 June, the Holy See ratified, on behalf of the Vatican City State, the Kigali Amendment to the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer, to which it had acceded on 5 May 2008. Finally, on 22 October, the Holy See and the People's Republic of China agreed to extend, for a further two years, the validity of the Provisional Agreement on the Appointment of Bishops in China, signed in Beijing in 2018.