HOLY SEE PRESS OFFICE OFICINA DE PRENSA DE LA SANTA SEDE



BUREAU DE PRESSE DU SAINT-SIEGE PRESSEAMT DES HEILIGEN STUHLS



N. 190713a

Saturday 13.07.2019

Resignations and Appointments

Erection of the Ecclesiastical Province of Florencia, Colombia, and appointment of first metropolitan archbishop

Appointment of Members of the Congregation for the Clergy

Erection of the Ecclesiastical Province of Florencia, Colombia, and appointment of first metropolitan archbishop

The Holy Father Francis has erected the ecclesiastical province of Florencia, Colombia, elevating to a Metropolitan Church the diocese of Florencia and assigning as suffragans the dioceses of Mocoa-Sibundoy and San Vicente del Caguán.

The Pope appointed as metropolitan archbishop of Florencia, Colombia, H.E. Msgr. Omar de Jesús Mejía Giraldo, currently bishop of Florencia.

H. E. Msgr. Omar de Jesús Mejía Giraldo

H. E. Msgr. Omar de Jesús Mejía Giraldo was born in El Santuario, diocese of Sonsón-Rionegro, on 21 January 1966. He carried out his studies in philosophy and theology in the *Cristo Sacerdote* National Major Seminary in La Ceja. He obtained a licentiate in philosophy and religious sciences at the *Universidad Católica de Oriente* of Rionegro and a licentiate in dogmatic theology at the Pontifical Gregorian University of Rome.

He was ordained a priest on 16 November 1991, for the clergy of the diocese of Sonsón-Rionegro.

As a priest he has held the following offices: formator in the *Nuestra Señora* diocesan seminary, diocesan delegate for youth and vocational pastoral care, parish vicar in the parish of *Nuestra Señora del Carmen* in El Carmen de Viboral, director of the Department for Pastoral Care of the *Universidad Católica de Oriente* of Rionegro, parish vicar of the parish of *Madre de la Sabiduría*, and vice rector of the *Cristo Sacerdote* National

On 27 April 2013 he was elected as bishop of Florencia and received episcopal consecration the following 29 June.

Appointment of Members of the Congregation for the Clergy

The Holy Father has appointed as Members of the Congregation for the Clergy the Eminent Cardinals: **Sérgio da Rocha**, archbishop of Brasília, Brazil; **Anders Arborelius**, **O.C.D.**, bishop of Stockholm, Sweden; **Giuseppe Petrocchi**, archbishop of L'Aquila, Italy; and **Baltazar Enrique Porras Cardozo**, apostolic administrator *sede vacante et ad nutum Sanctae Sedis* of Caracas and archbishop of Mérida, Venezuela; Archbishop **Filippo Iannone, O.Carm.**, president of the Pontifical Council for Legislative Texts; Bishop **Milton Luis Tróccoli Cebedio** of Maldonado-Punta del Este, Uruguay; Archbishop **Michel Aupetit** of Paris, France; Bishop **Robert Francis Prevost, O.S.A.**, of Chiclayo, Peru; Archbishop **Juan de la Caridad García Rodríguez** of San Cristóbal de La Habana, Cuba.