Back Top Print Pdf

Joint communiqué of the Bilateral Permanent Working Commission of the Holy See and the State of Israel, 18.01.2017

The Bilateral Permanent Working Commission between the Holy See and the State of Israel met today in Jerusalem, at the Plenary level, to continue negotiations pursuant to the Fundamental Agreement between the Holy See and the State of Israel of 1993, Art. 10 paragraph The meeting was headed by Tzachi Hanegbi, minister for Regional Cooperation of the State of Israel, and by Msgr. Antoine Camilleri, under-secretary for the Holy See's Relations with States.

The Plenary welcomed the progress accomplished at the working level regarding the negotiations pursuant to Art. 10 paragraph 2, and is pleased that they continue in a thoughtful and constructive atmosphere. The Plenary further acknowledges the work of the Ministry of Justice regarding the implementation of the 1997 Bilateral Legal Personality Agreement. The Parties have agreed on future steps, in view of the next Plenary meeting scheduled for March 2017, in Vatican City.

Following the BPWC meeting, the Holy See and the State of Israel held a bilateral dialogue at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. The delegations discussed matters of common interest and explored new opportunities for cooperation.


Delegation of the Holy See:

Msgr. Antoine Camilleri, under-secretary for Relations with States of the Holy See, head of Delegation;

Archbishop Giuseppe Lazzarotto, apostolic nuncio in Israel;

Archbishop Antonio Franco, apostolic nuncio;

Bishop Giacinto-Boulos Marcuzzo, Latin Patriarchal Vicar for Israel;

Fr. Lorenzo Lorusso, under-secretary of the Congregation for the Oriental Churches of the Holy See;

Msgr. Ionut Paul Strejac, desk officer, Secretary of State of the Holy See;

Msgr. Marco Formica, deputy head of Mission, apostolic nunciature in Israel;

Henry Amoroso, principal legal adviser;

Fr. Jacek Jasztal O.F.M., vicar of the Custody of the Holy Land;

Fr. Ibrahim Faltas O.F.M., Custody of the Holy Land;

Sr. Kathy Zimmermann F.S.E., secretary of the Delegation.


Delegation of the State of Israel:

Tzachi Hanegbi, minister for Regional Cooperation;

Emi Palmor, director general, Ministry of Justice;

Ehud Keinan, external advisor & head of Israeli working level team;

Akiva Tor, head of World Jewish and World Religions Affairs Bureau (MFA);

Dr. Joseph Draznin, advisor to the minister for Regional Cooperation;

Sharon Regev, director of the World Religions Affairs Department (MFA);

Tamar Kaplan, principal deputy legal advisor and director of the Diplomatic and Civil Law Department (MFA);

Karin Dosoretz, diplomatic and civil law department (MFA);

Itai Apter, office of the deputy Attorney General (International Law) (MOJ);

Moshe Golan, external advisor;

Anat Eilon Ganor, senior advisor to the chief economist (MOF);

Amir Haran, senior advisor to the director general (MOJ);

Gilad Atlacevitz, World Religions Affairs Department (MFA).